Live coverage of the JD Welsh Cup final this Sunday at 4.15 with kick off at 4.45.

The New Saints are aiming for the double after sealing the league Championship, while Bala Town will be hoping to repeat the success of the 2017 final, when Colin Caton’s team beat TNS to win the cup.

All the action with Dylan Ebenezer, Owain Tudur Jones, Malcolm Allen and Sioned Dafydd. English-language commentary is available with Mark Jones and Tomi Morgan. K/O/4.45.


The New Saints v Bala Town | Sunday – 16:45 (Nantporth Stadium, Bangor City)

This Sunday, The New Saints and Bala Town will go head-to-head at Nantporth Stadium in the 2022/23 JD Welsh Cup final.

The New Saints are the current JD Welsh Cup holders after winning the competition for the 8th time in their history in last season’s final against Pen-y-bont (TNS 3-2 Pen).

But Bala Town have fond memories of beating The New Saints at Nantporth Stadium in the 2016/17 final (Bala 2-1 TNS) and the Lakesiders will be eager for a repeat performance.

The league champions’ boss Craig Harrison, hasn’t forgotten that defeat from six years ago which denied him a third consecutive treble, and he’ll be desperate to make things right on Sunday to secure the double for the Oswestry outfit.

Bala Town are also seeking the double since they’ve already lifted the Nathaniel MG Cup earlier this year, but Colin Caton’s clan haven’t been on form since the split, as Bala ended their league campaign with a run of 12 games without a win.

The New Saints are unbeaten in their last 14 meetings with Bala Town (won 10, drawn four) and it’s been over four years since Bala Town last beat the Saints.

Therefore, The New Saints will be favourites on the day after sailing to the league title, 22pts clear of runners-up Connah’s Quay, and 39pts ahead of 5th placed Bala Town.

Bala Town have beaten Hawarden Rangers, Flint Town United, Pontypridd United, Briton Ferry Llansawel and Connah’s Quay to reach the Welsh Cup final for only the second time in their history, while The New Saints have seen off Chirk AAA, Caernarfon Town, Newtown, Cwmbrân Celtic and Pen-y-bont.

This will be TNS’ 12th appearance in the final, winning eight and losing three to date – lost vs Barry Town (2000/01), Rhyl (2003/04), and Bala Town (2016/17).

Bala Town will need to cause an upset if they are to secure their spot in Europe, but as the Saints have already booked their place in the Champions League qualifiers by winning the league, a victory for them would secure Pen-y-bont’s place in Europe as the next highest finishers in the league (3rd).

All the action will be live on S4C at 16:15 with Dylan Ebenezer, Sioned Dafydd and Owain Tudur Jones, and English language commentary will be available with former cup winners Mark Jones and Tomi Morgan.

Rhys Llwyd

Author Rhys Llwyd

More posts by Rhys Llwyd
Can't find what you're looking for?