Cymru C were defeated by a single goal from England C in Altrincham.

Ryan De Havilland’s strike deep into injury time in the first half remained unanswered as Mark Jones’ side were unable to build on their 4-0 victory in the fixture last year.

Kane Owen had the first attempt of the evening as his low-fired free kick from the edge of the box was parried away by Sam Hewes.

Gus Scott-Morris provided a brilliant cross from the right-hand side which looped over Alex Ramsay, but no England players reacted and Mael Davies was on hand to clear.

Scott-Morris found Emile Acquah who headed towards the back post but Jesse Debrah was unable to turn the ball in.

England’s crossing bombardment continued as Joe Sbarra found the back post accurately with nobody to turn home.

Cymru then counter-attacked through Sam Jones whose direct dribbling found space in the box, but his through ball aimed towards Kayne Mclaggon was collected by Hewes.

Mael Davies then provided an accurate cross of his own from a free-kick, but the England defence eased the danger by heading into Hewes’ hands.

Ryan Sears’ deflected cross found Jones unmarked at the back post, but he was denied by a brilliant Hewes save.

Danny Davies was next to prevent England from opening the scoring as he cleared a cross over the crossbar and out for a corner.
The deadlock was broken shortly after as De Havilland converted on his second attempt following a double save by Ramsay. The Barnet midfielder placed into the top left on the stroke of half time.

Sbarra came close to doubling the lead just after the hour mark as he intercepted a Sears pass and fired at an oncoming Connor Roberts who saved.

Joe Nuttall missed the target when he was picked out at the front post by Vincent Cordner.

Sears was unfortunate not to seize an opportunity to level late on as he volleyed over the crossbar from outside of the box.

England C: Hewes (Male 94’), Scott-Morris, Harper, Richardson (Debrah 21’), Cordner, Booty (Phipps 85’), Lundstrum, De Havilland (Vennings 75’), Nuttall, Acquah, Sbarra (Dyson 67’).

Goal: De Havillard 45+5’

Cymru C: Ramsay (Roberts 46’), M. Davies, Owen (Jenkins 89’), Lewis, D. Davies, Sears, Price (McCarthy 67’), Smith (Williams 78’), Green, Mclaggon (Ahmun 81’), Jones (Wood 61’).


Author Sgorio

More posts by Sgorio
Can't find what you're looking for?