There weren’t any great surprises as Robert Page announced his 26-man World Cup squad in Tylorstown on Wednesday evening.

Unlike the delayed UEFA European Championships in 2021 where Page included an uncapped Rubin Colwill in his squad, Wednesday’s announcement was very much “as expected”.

Sheffield United defender, Rhys Norrington-Davies, misses out because of injury with Tom Lockyer, who hasn’t featured for Wales since September 2021, the beneficiary.

Eight players in the squad will be heading to their third major tournament with Wayne Hennessey, Danny Ward, Chris Gunter, Ben Davies, Joe Allen, Aaron Ramsey, Gareth Bale and Jonathan Williams having already been part of the squads at Euro 2016 and Euro 2020.

Allen and Rubin Colwill are included despite recent injury scares. Allen hasn’t played for Swansea City since coming off with a hamstring problem during Swansea’s Championship win over Hull on 17 September, whilst Colwill came on as a substute agaims P{oland in September but has spent most of the season on the treatment table.

Page’s main selection headache would have centred around his striking options with Tyler Roberts and Rabbi Matondo having featured in the recent Nations League squads.

“It was difficult to tell them that they wouldn’t be going (to Qatar),” Page told S4C on Wednesday evening. “They’ve been part of the set-up and they’ve got a lot to offer.” “It doesn’t mean they won’t involved again, we’ve a lot of games starting again in March, but I get they’ll be disappointed.” On loan Wigan forward, Nathan Broadhead, had also been called up to the Nations League squad in June whilst many had called for former Wales under-21 striker, Ollie Cooper, to be included following his recent form for Swansea City.

However, Page has opted to go with Cardiff City’s Mark Harris alongside Brennan Johnson, Kieffer Moore, Gareth Bale and Dan James. Only three of the squad will be in a tournament squad for the first time, Lockyer had to withdraw from the squad for Euro 2020 through injury whilst Harris and Brennan Johnson also make their debut.

Wales Squad: Wayne Hennessey (Nottingham Forest), Danny Ward (Caerlŷr), Adam Davies (Sheffield United), Ben Cabango (Swansea City), Tom Lockyer (Luton Town), Joe Rodon (Rennes), Chris Mepham (Bournemouth), Ethan Ampadu (Spezia), Chris Gunter (AFC Wimbledon), Neco Williams (Nottingham Forest), Connor Roberts (Burnley), Sorba Thomas (Huddersfield Town), Joe Allen (Swansea City), Matthew Smith (MK Dons), Dylan Levitt (Dundee United), Harry Wilson (Fulham), Joe Morrell (Portsmouth), Jonathan Williams (Swindon Town), Aaron Ramsey (Nice), Rubin Colwill (Cardiff City), Gareth Bale (Los Angeles

FC), Kieffer Moore (Bournemouth), Mark Harris (Caerdydd), Brenna Johnson (Nottingham Forest), Dan James (Fulham).


Author Sgorio

More posts by Sgorio
Can't find what you're looking for?